UEFA Champions League winners by nation

UEFA Champions League winners by nation

Should Club Atlético de Madrid beat Real Madrid CF in the Lisbon final, three more countries could claim their first UEFA Champions League winners*, with Arda Turan having the opportunity to become the first Turkish European champion.

Most represented nation among UEFA Champions League winners (non-UEFA nations in bold)
46 Spain
38 Italy
26 Germany, Brazil
24 France
20 England, Netherlands
18 Portugal
11 Argentina
5 Serbia
4 Croatia, Czech Republic
3 Norway, Sweden, Cameroon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Mali, Nigeria
2 Finland, Georgia, Republic of Ireland, Wales
1 Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Denmark, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Switzerland, Ukraine, Australia, Mexico, South Africa, Trinidad & Tobago

NB Individual appearances, not individual players – e.g. Wales's two appearances were both made by Ryan Giggs. 

Winning coaches by nationality
5 Spain, Italy
4 Germany
2 Netherlands, Portugal, Scotland
1 Belgium

NB Individual appearances, not individual coaches – e.g. Scotland's two wins were both achieved by Sir Alex Ferguson. 

Nations with only one winner in a UEFA Champions League final (non-UEFA nations in bold)
Australia: Harry Kewell (Liverpool FC 2004/05)
Austria: David Alaba (FC Bayern München, 2012/13)
Bosnia and Herzegovina: Hasan Salihamidžić (FC Bayern München 2000/01)
Cameroon: Samuel Eto'o (FC Barcelona 2005/05 and 2008/09, FC Internazionale Milano 2009/10)
Denmark: Peter Schmeichel (Manchester United FC, 1998/99)
Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia: Goran Pandev (FC Internazionale Milano 2009/10)
Georgia: Kakha Kaladze (AC Milan 2002/03 and 2006/07)
Mexico: Rafael Márquez (FC Barcelona 2005/06)
Poland: Jerzy Dudek (Liverpool FC 2004/05)
Romania: Cristian Chivu (FC Internazionale Milano 2009/10)
Russia: Dmitri Alenichev (FC Porto 2003/04)
Scotland: Paul Lambert (Borussia Dortmund 1996/97)
South Africa: Benni McCarthy (FC Porto 2003/04)
Switzerland: Stéphane Chapuisat (Borussia Dortmund 1996/97)
Trinidad & Tobago: Dwight Yorke (Manchester United FC 1998/99)
Ukraine: Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan 2002/03)
Wales: Ryan Giggs (Manchester United FC 1998/99 and 2007/08)

Powered by Blogger.
My Blogger TricksAll Blogger TricksTechtunes